Every winner of the FIFA Club World Cup


The FIFA Club World Cup sees the cream of the crop from each continent annually do battle in a bid to be crowned champions of the world.

With such an array of sides from across the world taking part in the competition each year, the list of winners sure is diverse. And by diverse, we mean European and Brazilian.

Here, 90min spins you through every winner of the CWC since the competition was founded in 2000.

- Advertisement -

Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool were crowned champions of the world before they were crowned champions of England. They required a stoppage time Roberto Firmino winner to progress past Monterrey in the semi finals, and were taken to extra time by Flamengo in the final.

Firmino was again the man with the late winner as Klopp’s Liverpool succeeded where Rafa Benitez’s 2005 Liverpool had fallen just short and were crowned Club World Cup champions for the first time.

Real Madrid’s extraordinary Champions League record between 2014 and 2018 saw them run riot at the Club World Cup – they are the most decorated side in the competition’s history.

Sergio Ramos and Gareth Bale saw them past San Lorenzo in 2014, and they required extra time and a Cristiano Ronaldo hat-trick to overcome Kashima Antlers – the first ever Asian side to reach the Club World Cup final – in 2016.

Ronaldo again proved the difference in 2017, netting the final’s only goal against Gremio, before UEA outfit Al Ain FC were comfortably beaten 4-1 the following year. Real remain the only side to have defended the Club World Cup.

Barcelona are three-time Club World Cup champions – twice under Pep Guardiola and once under Luis Enrique.

The Catalan giants required an 89th minute Pedro equaliser plus extra time to beat 2-1 Estudiantes in 2009, but were comfortable 4-0 winners over Neymar’s Santos in 2011 – Lionel Messi netting a brace – and 3-0 victors over River Plate in 2015 – Luis Suarez netting a brace. Barcelona’s 2009 triumph was their sixth trophy of the calendar year.

Jupp Heynckes guided Bayern Munich to 2012/13 Champions League glory, but it was Pep Guardiola at the helm for their Club World Cup triumph.

Bayern overcame Moroccan outfit Raja Club Athletic – only the second African side in the competition’s history to reach the final – to lift the trophy, winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Dante and Thiago Alcantara.

Corinthians became the first Brazilian side in six years to win the Club World Cup as they got the better of Chelsea in the 2012 final. It was their second triumph in the competition, having also lifted the trophy in 2000.

Having been a beaten finalist with Liverpool seven years earlier, Rafael Benitez – who was in the Blues seat after replacing Champions League winning coach Roberto Di Matteo – was again on the losing side. His team suffered a 1-0 loss to Corinthians thanks to Paolo Guerrero’s second half goal.

Despite Jose Mourinho – the man who had guided Inter to Champions League glory the previous season – no longer being at the helm, the Serie A outfit became the second Italian side to win the Club World Cup with a comfortable victory over Congolese side TP Mazembe.

TP Mazembe had made history by becoming the first ever African side to reach the final of the competition thanks to a shock victory over Internacional in the semis. The squad consisted predominantly of Congolese nationals, and they were beaten 3-0 in the final thanks to goals from Goran Pandev, Samuel Eto’o and Jonathan Biabiany.

Manchester United came out on top in a breathless 5-3 semi final against Japanese side Gamba Osaka, before playing out a tamer 1-0 victory over Ecuador’s Liga de Quito in the final.

United were forced to play much of the second half with 10 men following Nemanja Vidic’s dismissal, but emerged victorious thanks to a Wayne Rooney goal 17 minutes from time.

The fabulous noughties Milan side became the first European team to lift the Club World Cup with an entertaining, Kaka-inspired 4-2 win over Boca Juniors.

Filippo Inzaghi grabbed a brace and Alessandro Nesta and Kaka were also on the scoresheet, with the Brazilian midfielder named player of the tournament.

Brazilian outfit Internacional claimed their first and thus far only Club World Cup title in 2006 with a 1-0 win over Barcelona in the final.

It was a Barcelona side littered with stars – including Ronaldinho, Andres Iniesta and Xavi, but they were beaten by an 82nd minute strike from Adriano Gabiru. A teenage Alexandre Pato also lined up for Internacional.

Sao Paulo are one of three Brazilian sides to have won the Club World Cup, lifting the trophy for the first and only time in Japan in 2005.

Goalkeeper Rogerio Ceni was the hero, netting the winner from the penalty spot during Sao Paulo’s 3-2 semi final victory over Saudi Arabian outfit Al-Ittihad, before turning in a player of the match performance during his side’s 1-0 win over Liverpool in the final.

The Reds hit the woodwork on multiple occasions and saw three goals disallowed in the final. Didi Hamman then spent the night in a Japanese police cell after attempts to drown his sorrows with Jamie Carragher that evening went wrong.

Source From: 90min EN

Previous articleTimeless Cristiano Ronaldo proves age is but a number in Juventus victory
Next article“Vintage” Serena Williams Cruises Into Second Round With Impressive Win


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.