India defeated New Zealand by five wickets in the first T20 International


Kathmandu: India have beaten New Zealand by five wickets in the first T20 International. India won the series for the first time after a poor performance in the T20 World Cup.

File Photo

The pair of new coach Rahul Dravid and captain Rohit Sharma have also made a good start. India completed the target of 165 runs set by New Zealand in Jaipur by losing five wickets in 19.4 overs.

After the victory, India has taken a 1-0 lead in the three-match series. Surya Kumar Yadav scored the highest 62 runs in India’s victory. Similarly, captain Rohit Sharma added 48 runs. Rishav Pant remained unbeaten on 17 runs.

New Zealand’s Trent Bold took two wickets. Tim Southee, Darrell Mitchell and Mitchell Santner took one wicket each.

Earlier, losing the toss and batting first, New Zealand lost 6 wickets in 20 overs and scored 164 runs.

Martin Guptill and Mark Chapman scored half-centuries for New Zealand. Opener Guptill top-scored with 70 while Mark Chapman added 63 runs.

India’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar Ravichandran Ashwin took two wickets and Deepak Chahar and Mohammad took one wicket each.

Previous articleWomen’s Cricket: Nepal Playing the third T20 International cricket with Qatar today
Next articleMartyrs’ Memorial ‘A’ Division League starting from today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here