Nepal Sports Journalists(NSJF) announced the Jhapa Sports Award 2018


NPL Sports, Birtamod (Jhapa): Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) Jhapa Coordination Committee on Sunday announced the nominees for the Jhapa Sports Award to be held on January 21 in Birtamode.

The Jhapa NSJF will honour sportsperson and teams in five different categories—male, female and youth players of the year, coach of the year and people’s choice award—on the basis of their achievements in the previous year. Each category has three nominees.

The winners will be rewarded Rs 15,000 and trophies. Footballers Bishal Rai ‘B’ and Yogesh Gurung and chess player Bhupendra Niraula were nominated in the male player of the year category.

- Advertisement -

Cricketer Rubina Chhetri, karateka Ester Rai and boxer Sulup Magar were nominated for the female player of the year award. The players shortlisted for the youth award include footballers Devendra Tamang and Pujan Uparkoti and cricketer Sabnam Rai.

Sanjay Rai (football), Manoj Katuwal (cricket) and Sita Rai (karate) were named as the coach of the year nominees.

Jhapa XI Football Club, Milan Cricket Club and Birtamode United FC were nominated for people’s choice award.

A four-member selection committee under NSJF Jhapa secretary Parbat Portel shortlisted the nominees. People’s choice award will be decided through SMS voting.

Previous articleNepal crashing to a huge 340-run defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka in Ajman (UAE)
Next articleNepal lost to India by eight wickets in the Blind World Cup cricket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.