Tuesday, May 21, 2024

ICC announces the schedule for the T20 World Cup 2021

Kathmandu: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the schedule for the 2021 T20 World Cup.

The first match of the T20 World Cup will be played between Oman and Papua New Guinea on October 17, according to the schedule released by the ICC.

The second match will be between Bangladesh and Scotland on the same day. Similarly, India and Pakistan will play on October 24.

The hosting of the T20 World Cup 2021 was first proposed in India. But due to the corona virus infection, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) relocated it to the UAE and Oman.

Eight qualifying teams will take part in the first round of the competition. Four of these teams will make it to the Super 12. The top eight teams are Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea. The final of the T20 World Cup will be played on November 14.

This is the first time since 2016 that the Men’s T20 World Cup has been organized. Earlier, the West Indies had beaten England in the final played in Kolkata in 2016.

Which countries have Super 12?

Group A – England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Round 1 Group A winners and Round 1 Group B runners-up

Group Two – India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Round 1 Group B runners-up, Round 1 Group A runners-up.


Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles