Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Army defeated Vijayi Youth Club Hetauda by 2-1 win the title

Kathmandu: Nepal Army Club has won the fourth edition of the local level Martyrs’ Memorial International Makwanpur Gold Cup held at Piple Stadium of Hetauda Sub-metropolis-5.

Photo: Tribhuvan Army Club Players

In the recently concluded competitive match, the Army defeated the home team Vijayi Youth Club Hetauda by 2-1 win the title.

After Yudh Shahi fouled Vimal Rana in the penalty box, the referee awarded a penalty to Vijay Youth and Dona Thapa scored.

Kamal Bahadur Thapa scored early in the second half to give Army a two-one lead. The game ended in a draw as Dinesh Henjan failed to score even though the Army got a chance to score a penalty.

Dinesh could not score from the penalty spot after Vijay Youth captain and goalkeeper Ashok Baral fouled Santosh KC.

Twelve teams participated in the event organized by Makwanpur District Football Association.

The best player of the competition will get a Thane Bullet motorcycle sponsored by Hetauda School of Management. The best individual will receive Rs 25,000 each.

The Army has won for the tenth time. Army had earlier defeated the home team in the final of the third Makwanpur Gold Cup held in 2077 BS.

While the Army received Rs 1.5 million along with the title shield, Hetauda, ​​which became the runner-up, received Rs 1 million along with the shield.

Captain Bharat Khawas and Kamal Bahadur Thapa scored the winning goals for the Army. Donna Thapa of Vijay Youth scored a goal from the penalty spot.

In the 15th minute of the match, the Army took the lead through a goal by Captain Bharat Khawas. 10 minutes later, the home team equalized.


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles